» Wimbledon Championship
Wimbledon Championship

Wimbledon Championship

Wimbledon Championship in 2021 »   28 June  To  11 July

Category: Sports
Celebrated In: England

The Championships, Wimbledon, The Wimbledon Championships or simply Wimbledon is the oldest tennis tournament in the world, and widely considered the most prestigious. It has been held at the All England Club in Wimbledon, London, since 1877. It is one of the four Grand Slam major tennis tournaments, the others being the Australian Open, the French Open and the US Open. Since the Australian Open shifted to hard court in 1988, Wimbledon is the only Major still played on grass, the game's original surface, which gave the game its original name of "lawn tennis".

The tournament takes place over two weeks in late June and early July, culminating with the Ladies' and Gentlemen's Singles Final, scheduled for the second Saturday and Sunday respectively. Each year five major, junior, and invitational events are held.

Details about Wimbledon Championship:




Wimbledon, London Borough of Merton

United Kingdom


The All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club


Grass / Outdoor

Prize money




Current champions

Andy Murray (singles)

Bob Bryan / Mike Bryan (doubles)

Most singles titles

William Renshaw (7)

Pete Sampras (7)

Roger Federer (7)

Most doubles titles

Todd Woodbridge (9)



Current champions

Marion Bartoli (singles)

Hsieh Su-Wei / Peng Shuai (doubles)

Most singles titles

Martina Navratilova (9)

Most doubles titles

Elizabeth Ryan (12)


Mixed Double’s

Current champions

Daniel Nestor / Kristina Mladenovic



Most titles (male)

Ken Fletcher (4)

Vic Seixas (4)

Owen Davidson (4)

Most titles (female)

Elizabeth Ryan (7)


Wimbledon Championship Dates

Wimbledon Championship in 2021 »   28 June  To  11 July

Fairs Around The World

The ancient town of Pushkar is transformed into a spectacular fair...


The Urs Fair is dedicated to Khwaja Moin-ud-din Chishti, the Sufi saint. It is organized on th...


Dadri fair is one of the largest fair. The fair site is located at a distance of about 3 km fr...


Chitra-Vichitra Mela is a purely tribal fair that takes place in the Gumbhakhari village, whic...

Ambubachi Mela, also known as Ambubasi festival, is held annually during monsoon in the kama...

The State of Rajasthan has so many attractions for tourists with its many palaces, temples and mo...


The Bahu Mela is celebrated in honor of the Goddess Kali whose temple lies in the Bahu Fort. T...

Copyright © FestivalsZone. All Rights Reserved.