» Wimbledon Championship

Wimbledon Championship Dates

Wimbledon Championship in 2014 »   23 June  To  6 July

Wimbledon Championship Category: Sports
Celebrated In: England

The Championships, Wimbledon, The Wimbledon Championships or simply Wimbledon is the oldest tennis tournament in the world, and widely considered the most prestigious. It has been held at the All England Club in Wimbledon, London, since 1877. It is one of the four Grand Slam major tennis tournaments, the others being the Australian Open, the French Open and the US Open. Since the Australian Open shifted to hard court in 1988, Wimbledon is the only Major still played on grass, the game's original surface, which gave the game its original name of "lawn tennis".

The tournament takes place over two weeks in late June and early July, culminating with the Ladies' and Gentlemen's Singles Final, scheduled for the second Saturday and Sunday respectively. Each year five major, junior, and invitational events are held.

Details about Wimbledon Championship:




Wimbledon, London Borough of Merton

United Kingdom


The All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club


Grass / Outdoor

Prize money




Current champions

Andy Murray (singles)

Bob Bryan / Mike Bryan (doubles)

Most singles titles

William Renshaw (7)

Pete Sampras (7)

Roger Federer (7)

Most doubles titles

Todd Woodbridge (9)



Current champions

Marion Bartoli (singles)

Hsieh Su-Wei / Peng Shuai (doubles)

Most singles titles

Martina Navratilova (9)

Most doubles titles

Elizabeth Ryan (12)


Mixed Double’s

Current champions

Daniel Nestor / Kristina Mladenovic



Most titles (male)

Ken Fletcher (4)

Vic Seixas (4)

Owen Davidson (4)

Most titles (female)

Elizabeth Ryan (7)


Wimbledon Championship Dates

Wimbledon Championship in 2014 »   23 June  To  6 July

Festival More Detail
World Trade Fair

The famed cattle fair is held at Sonepur, in Northern Bihar on the banks of the River...


Joranda Mela of Orissa has religious spirit associated with it. Joranda Mela is organized in J...


The Rash Mela was the brainchild of a number of locals, said Mr Prabhash Dhibar, a 72-year-old...


The history behind the Nauchandi Mela is debatable; some say that it began as a cattle fair wa...


The Sair Fair is celebrated at Shimla in Himachal Pradesh, India.The bull fight done here refl...


This is the one of the most popular pilgrim center in Himachal Pradesh. Dedicated to Baba Bala...


Dadri fair is one of the largest fair. The fair site is located at a distance of about 3 km fr...

Copyright © FestivalsZone. All Rights Reserved.