Like Our Facebook Page, to Get Regular Updates
Search Festivals by:

Filmfare Awards

Filmfare Awards Dates
Filmfare Awards in 2013 »    20 January
Filmfare Awards in 2014 »    20 February
Category: Film
Celebrated In: India

The Filmfare Awards are presented annually by The Times Group to honour both artistic and technical excellence of professionals in the Hindi language film industry of India. The Filmfare ceremony is one of the oldest and most prominent film events given for Hindi films in India.The awards were first introduced in 1954, the same year as the National Film Awards. They were initially referred to as the Clare Awards or The Clares after the editor of The Times of India, Clare Mendonca. A dual voting system was developed in 1956. Under this system, "in contrast to the National Film Awards, which are decided by a panel appointed by Indian Government, the Filmfare Awards are voted for by both the public and a committee of experts. The Filmfare Awards have been often referred to as the Hindi film industry's equivalent to Oscars.

The Filmfare awards were first introduced in 1954. The Clares was the original name of the award ceremony, named after The Times of India critic Clare Mendonca. Readers of Filmfare were polled to decide the winners, and over 20,000 readers spread throughout India participated in the polls; trophies were given to winners of the popular vote. In the first awards function, held on 21 March 1954 at the Metro Theatre of Mumbai, only five awards were presented: Best Film, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, and Best Music Director. Do Bigha Zameen was the first movie to win the award for Best Film. The first winners for other four categories were: Bimal Roy for his direction of Do Bigha Zameen, Dilip Kumar for his performance in Daag, Meena Kumari for her performance in Baiju Bawra, and Naushad for his music in Baiju Bawra.

Hollywood star Gregory Peck was invited to be the guest of honour at the first ever awards on March 21, 1954 at the Metro theatre, Mumbai but couldn't make it to the function since his flight from Colombo got delayed. However, Peck did attend the banquet that followed the award nite at Wellington Club(Gymkhana), Mumbai

The winners for the year 1985 were announced in 1986 and the event was scheduled to be held at the Brabourne Stadium in December 1986. Unfortunately the Bombay film Industry, as was known then went on strike in '86 because of its many contentious issues with the Maharashtra Government. So the ceremony was pushed to the next year. The winners of 1985 were awarded on 28 January 1987. Due to Security reasons, filmfare was not awarded for 1987 and 1988

The statuette, depicting a woman whose arms uprise in a dance number with her fingers touching, is commonly referred to as "The Black Lady" (or "The Lady in Black"). Originally designed by N.G. Pansare under the supervision of Times of India's art director Walter Langhammer, it is generally made of bronze, its height is 46.5 cm and it weighs around five kgs.To celebrate the 25th year of the awards, the statues were made in silver and to celebrate the 50th year the statues were made in gold.The trophy is currently manufactured by The Award Gallery.

Filmfare Awards Dates
Filmfare Awards in 2013 »   20 January
Filmfare Awards in 2014 »   20 February
Festival Articles
» 58th Filmfare Awards, 2013
» 57th Filmfare Awards, 2012
» 56th Filmfare Awards, 2011
» 55th Filmfare Awards, 2010
» 54th Filmfare Awards, 2009
» 53rd Filmfare Awards, 2008
» 52nd Filmfare Awards, 2007
» 51st Filmfare Awards, 2006
» 50th Filmfare Awards, 2005
» 49th Filmfare Awards, 2004
» 48th Filmfare Awards, 2003
» 47th Filmfare Awards, 2002
» 46th Filmfare Awards, 2001
» 45th Filmfare Awards, 2000
» 44th Filmfare Awards, 1999
» 43rd Filmfare Awards, 1998
» 42nd Filmfare Awards, 1997
» 41st Filmfare Awards, 1996
» 40th Filmfare Awards, 1995
» 39th Filmfare Awards, 1994
» 38th Filmfare Awards, 1993
» 37th Filmfare Awards, 1992
» 36th Filmfare Awards, 1991
» 35th Filmfare Awards, 1990 Winners List
» 34th Filmfare Awards, 1989 Winners List
» 33rd Filmfare Awards, 1986 Winners List
» 32nd Filmfare Awards, 1985 Winners List
» 31st Filmfare Awards, 1984 Winners List
» 30th Filmfare Awards, 1983 Winners List
» 29th Filmfare Awards, 1982 Winners List
» 28th Filmfare Awards, 1981 Winners List
» 27th Filmfare Awards, 1980 Winners List
» First Filmfare Awards, 1954 Winners
» 26th Filmfare Awards, 1979 Winners List
» 25th Filmfare Awards, 1978 Winners List
» 24th Filmfare Awards, 1977 Winners List
» 23rd Filmfare Awards, 1976 Winners List
» 22nd Filmfare Awards, 1975 Winners List
» 21st Filmfare Awards, 1974 Winners List
» 20th Filmfare Awards, 1973 Winners List
» 19th Filmfare Awards, 1972 Winners List
» 18th Filmfare Awards, 1971 Winners List
» 17th Filmfare Awards, 1970 Winners List
» 16th Filmfare Awards, 1969 Winners List
» 15th Filmfare Awards, 1968 Winners List
» 14th Filmfare Awards, 1967 Winners List
» 13th Filmfare Awards, 1966 Winners List
» 12th Filmfare Awards, 1965 Winners List
» 11th Filmfare Awards, 1964 Winners List
» 10th Filmfare Awards, 1963 Winners List
» 9th Filmfare Awards, 1962 Winners List
» 8th Filmfare Awards, 1961 Winners List
» 7th Filmfare Awards, 1960 Winners List
» 6th Filmfare Awards, 1959 Winners List
» 5th Filmfare Awards, 1958 Winners List
» 4th Filmfare Awards, 1957 Winners List
» 3rd Filmfare Awards, 1956 Winners List
» 2nd Filmfare Awards, 1955 Winners List

World Trade Fair

Tejaji Fair

Nagaur district is the land of fairs as they are not only cattle markets but in real terms a w.....

Lilipari Krama Fair

Lili Parikrama  around Mount Girnar in Junagadh district starts from the temple of Bhavna.....

Garh Ganga Mela

Garhmukteshwar is holy place, situated at the bank of holy river Ganga. Garhmukteshwar is famo.....

Godachi Fair

The Godachi fair is a most important fair of Karnataka. This fair is organiz.....

Purnagiri Fair

Purnagiri is located on the top of a hill and is 20 kms from Tanakpur. Purnagiri It is located.....

Pushkar Fair

The ancient town of Pushkar is transformed into a spectacular fair.....

Sheetla Mata Fair

GThe Sheetla Mata Fair of Chaksu, Rajasthan is dedicated to Sheetla Mata, goddess of epidemic .....

» 57th Filmfare Awards, 2012
» Celebration Of Hariyali Teej (हरियाली तीज की धूम)
» 27th Filmfare Awards, 1980 Winners List
» Lord Shiv Ordinance According To Zodiac (राशि के अनुसार भगवान शिव का अभिषेक)
» 32nd Filmfare Awards, 1985 Winners List
» 15th Filmfare Awards, 1968 Winners List
» What to Do In Ramzan Roje (रोजे़ में क्या करें)
» Shiv Ordinance for Longevity of Husband (पति की दीर्घायु के लिए शिव अभिषेक)
» 17th Filmfare Awards, 1970 Winners List
» 49th Filmfare Awards, 2004
» 51st Filmfare Awards, 2006
» नवरात्र पाठ( Navratri paath)
» 14th Filmfare Awards, 1967 Winners List
» Hariyali Teej Special For newly married Women (हरियाली तीज नवविवाहिता के लिए खास)
» 4th Filmfare Awards, 1957 Winners List
Search World Festivals By
» Religion
» Community
» Date
» Weather
» Country
» Upcoming Festival
Celebration Around the World
» Film Festivals
» Fairs & Festivals
» Dance Festivals
» Food Festivals
» Sports 
» Articles
Quick Links
» Home
» About Festivalszone
» Contact Us
» Terms of Use
» Privacy Policy
» Disclaimer
  Copyright © FestivalsZone. All Rights Reserved.